The Hugh Knowles Prize for Distinguished Achievement is awarded periodically to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to research or clinical practice in the prevention, diagnosis, or treatment of hearing disorders. Nominations for the prize may be submitted at any time to Nina Kraus, chairman of the selection committee.

The 2013 Hugh Knowles Prize for Distinguished Achievement


Presented to
Robert J. Zatorre, Ph.D.
McGill University
on April 25, 2013 at 4:15pm — Swift Hall, Room 107, 2029 Sheridan Road, Evanston Campus

The Knowles Hearing Center honored Dr. Zatorre with an award of $20,000. Dr. Zatorre delivered a lecture titled: Music Perception and Pleasure: Interactions between neocortical and striatal systems.

Robert Zatorre, based at the Montreal Neurological Institute, has been selected as the 2013 Hugh Knowles Prize winner for revolutionizing the field of the neuroscience of music and making key contributions to the hearing sciences.  He has made seminal discoveries regarding the neuroanatomy of the auditory system, the relationship between the auditory and motor systems, hemispheric lateralization, language representation in bilingual brains, the interplay among the auditory, affect and reward systems, and auditory imagery and cognition.

Past Recipients

2008 Brian C. J. Moore
2005 Peter Dallos
2000 A. James Hudspeth
1997 David M. Green
1995 David Kemp
1992 Josef J. Zwislocki

2013 Prize Selection Committee: Nina Kraus, Northwestern University, Chairman; Jonathan Fritz, University of Maryland; Benedikt Grothe, University of Munich; M. Charles Liberman, Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary; David Moore, MRC, Institute of Hearing Research, Nottingham, UK; Kathy Pichora-Fuller, University of Toronto; Neil Segil, University of Southern California and Xiaoqin Wang, Johns Hopkins University.